Get FREE resources by joining the ART Community More Info

Lovran Travel Guide

Lovran Travel Guide

This ancient port city is an intersect of sea, mountain, urban, and rural landscapes. Named for the laurel, the fresh evergreen used by Romans to adorn the heads of important citizens, Lovran is as diverse as it is beautiful. From the beautiful Adriatic Sea, to Mt. Ucka rising as backdrop to the city, to its narrow streets lined with ancient, 3-story buildings, to the pastoral rural areas just outside the city, it is a fascinating mix of old, new, urban, rural, mountain, and sea. That attraction was not lost on the Roman noblemen. Marcus Agripa built his summer home on the townsite back in the 1st century. Known for the Marunada festival celebrating Lovran's harvest of sweet chestnuts, Lovran also celebrates Carnival. Zvoncari dancers sporting sheepskins and ramshorns encourage the arrival of spring, while driving out the villain of troubles known as Pust. Lovran also plans festivities around the asparagus harvest in April and an abundance of cherries in July.

Tourist Board in Lovran

Trg slobode 1, Lovran
+385 (0)51 291 740

Attractions and Activities in Lovran

1. Lungomare: Seafront promenade
2. Mt. Ucka: Mountain hiking and bike riding
3. Old Town: St. George Square and City Tower
4. Medveja: Beautiful beach set on the banks of Kvarner Bay at the base of Ucka Mountain
5. Asparagus Festival: Held in April
6. Festival of Cherries: Held in June
7. Marunada (Chestnuts Festival): Very popular festival held in October
8. Carnival: Festival in January-February
9. Churches of Old Town: St. George, St. John the Baptist and Holy Trinity
10. Family-friendly: Clean beaches and water sports

Restaurants, Bars, and Cafes in Lovran

1. Draga di Lovrana: Istrian cuisine; Lovranska draga 1, Lovran; www.dragadilovrana.hr 
2. Konoba Kali Medveja: Croatian cuisine; Kali 39a, Medveja, Lovran; http://www.konobakali.hr/ 
3. Stari Grad: Fish specialties; Trg Slobode 5, Lovran; www.tz-lovran.hr 
4. Lovranska Vrata: Croatian cuisine; Stari Grad 94, Lovran; www.restaurant-lovranska-vrata.com 
5. Restaurant Knezgrad: Croatian cuisine; Trg slobode 12, Lovran; http://kroatien-online.com/ 

Hotels and Accommodations in Lovran

1. Hotel Lovran: Beautiful hotel; 3-star; $; Set. M. Tita 19/2, Lovran; www.hotel-lovran.hr 
2. Hotel Park Lovran: Another beautiful hotel; 4-star; $; M. Tita 60, Lovran; www.hotelparklovran.hr 
3. Villa Remisens Belvedere: Recently refurbished; 4-star; $; M. Tita 27, Lovran; www.remisens.com 
4. Hotel Villa Eugenia: Very nice hotel; 4-star; $; M. Tita 34, Lovran; www.villa-eugenia.com 
5. Hotel Villa Vera: Stylish hotel; 4-star; $; M. Tita 5, Lovran; www.hotel-villavera.hr 

Camps near Lovran

Autokamp Medveja: Great camp; 3-star; Medveja bb, Lovran www.remisens.com/hr/autokamp-medveja.

Google Map of Recommendations for Lovran

See ART Google Map for additional recommendations on places to see and things to do in Lovran: http://www.adriaticroadtrip.com/p/adriatic-road-trip.html.

Explore other destinations in Croatia: http://www.adriaticroadtrip.com/p/cit.html.
SHARE

Toni Krasnic

I'm the founder of the Adriatic Tourism & Real Estate Group, author of the Adriatic Road Trip Travel Guide, and author of this blog.

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

0 comments:

Post a Comment